Americans still urged to refrain from travel to half of Europe before entry ban is lifted on November 8

The US State Department continues to urge Americans to refrain from travel to nearly half of Europe due to COVID-19, just under three weeks before the entry ban was lifted for vaccinated travelers from the majority of the countries of the old continent.

By updating the Travel Advisory, by which the State Department advises US nationals of the level of risk posed by travel to their potential destination, the United States has not lifted the alert “Level 4: Don’t travel”For any new European country.

In addition, he removed the same alert for Cyprus, which has been in effect since July 26, advising Americans instead to reconsider their trip to the country.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 3 Travel Health Advisory for Cyprus due to COVID-19, indicating a high level of COVID-19 in the country. Your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated with an FDA-cleared vaccine“, Notes the State Department.

A “Level 3: Reconsider the journeyHas also been issued for Hungary and Poland.

Yet up to 12 countries in the EU and the Schengen area are still part of the level 4 list, out of a total of 31 countries that are part of these two entities, as follows:

  1. Austria (since October 4)
  2. Bulgaria (since September 27)
  3. Croatia (since October 4)
  4. Estonia (since August 30)
  5. Greece (since August 2)
  6. Ireland (since August 2)
  7. Latvia (since October 4)
  8. Lithuania (since September 13)
  9. Norway (since September 27)
  10. Romania (since October 12)
  11. Slovenia (since September 13)
  12. Switzerland (since August 30)

A level 4 alert is also issued for other European countries outside the European Union and the Schengen area. Since October 12, Americans have been asked to refrain at all costs from going to Moldova, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Belarus.

A “Do not travelThe notices are also valid for Albania since September 13, for North Macedonia since August 30 and for Kosovo since August 23. Russia and Turkey.

Despite advice against travel, the United States is expected to reopen its borders to vaccinated travelers from the Schengen area, the United Kingdom and Ireland on November 8. Those who have been vaccinated with any of the vaccines approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA). , as well as those approved by the World Health Organization (WHO), will be allowed entry. Those with mixed vaccines will also be considered fully vaccinated, which is widely practiced across Europe.

Source link

About Ariella McGuire

Check Also

Family and activists seek answers to death of black Missouri man | WIVT

SPANISH LAKE, Missouri (AP) – A puzzling daylight shootout in a small town trailer park …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *